scientiae…almost…there


Ok, so it’s Sunday and the carnival is nearing completion, but not quite ready yet.  I feel really bad about this! I’m so sorry, oh blogosphere!  But really it’s just a blog carnival and being a few days late won’t hurt anyone, right?

I did indeed have that catastrophic distraction that I thought I might be about to have – wherein I got an ominous e-mail on Thursday and then learned on Friday for sure – I failed the quals, take two, and now must leave the degree program I was in.  I got my master’s in Feb, so I’ll be taking a concrete degree away with me, but this pretty much sucks.  I’m doing pretty well all things considered.  I’m sure I’ll write at least a post or two more about this experience, and then I’ll probably chronicle my further research into other career options and jobs.  So I’ll write more about what happened, how it is that I failed (twice), and why I struggle with this kind of test even though I am a great researcher and I make a productive grad student nonetheless, in case you’re wondering what’s going on.  So that’s been pretty distracting as I’ve been pretty devastated and just wanted to relax for a good part of the weekend (not to mention other work I had to do).

I also didn’t realize quite how massive this carnival is going to be.  We got over 30 submissions, some of them very detailed, and it’s taking me a while to work through them all. I’m so sorry I’m so late, but I still do want to complete it myself as it’s been very therapeutic and informational for me too.  I worked on it for a lot of the day today, but I have a bit more to do and I’ll only have a little time tomorrow, so it will be ready either tomorrow or Tuesday, I think. Stay tuned!

22 thoughts on “scientiae…almost…there

  1. Thanks everyone. I’ve got a lot of supportive friends and family, and my husband especially has been great, so that helps and I’m doing ok. I had already been looking through other things I might do, so I’m confident that I’ll find something I like and that makes more money, too!

  2. Glad to hear you are doing ok and sorry to hear about the quals. I often wish I would have stopped at my master’s and not gone through the hell that has been writing my dissertation. Looking for jobs I’ve noticed that to do research in the government or industry (and sometimes as techs at universities) one doesn’t need a Ph.D. hopefully you can do research in your field without a Ph.D. as well.

    p.s. I sent you info about my traineo account. Maybe the e-mail went to junk mail or I’ve assumed you have been really busy with scientiae, just wanted to let you know I sent the e-mail.

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about your quals. Hang in there, and hopefully you’ll be able to view it as an opening to other opportunties (although I’m sure it doesn’t feel like that right now!).

  4. So sorry about the quals! Sounds like you’re staying upbeat, have a lots of support, and maybe even a plan, which is all great. Good for you! Best of luck to you.

  5. So sorry to hear about your quals. Such exams often seem to test things far afield from what it actually takes to work in a lab, come up with new research ideas, and carry them through. Take care, glad to hear you are doing okay.

  6. I wanted to add that I was sorry to hear about the quals too, but I’m pleased you sound so philosophical about it and upbeat about the future. I’ve known a couple of absolutely brilliant people who struggled with those sorts of tests and find it moderately ridiculous that departments are more flexible in some cases. Many good wishes for finding the right path from here!

  7. I’m sorry to hear about your quals too. I hope you find a career path that makes you satisfied and happy (and making more money certainly wouldn’t be a bad thing). I think it goes without saying that dealing with real life takes precedent over the blog carnival.

  8. Oh, stink! I’m so sorry to hear about your quals. You sound like you’re dealing with it remarkably well.

    I think you should take your time with the carnival. You have bigger fish to fry right now.

  9. Pingback: Twinkle twinkle YSO

  10. I just wandered over here today from a scientiae link. As a women who just complete her ph.d. in a STEM field, I just wanted to say that quals suck! They have nothing to do with lab or research. I choose my graduate school dept partly because they did not have quals. Quals distract from research. They (and I) believe that the classes you are required to take should be enough!

    On the other hand, as someone who is watching peers struggle with trying to find a job with a Ph.D. (not enough academia/national lab jobs, too qualified for many industry jobs), ending with a masters may be a good thing!

Leave a comment