36 weeks – in the final stretch


Today I am 36 weeks pregnant. That’s by my count, based on estimated ovulation date. Since the doctor goes by last menstruation period, by his count I’m 36 weeks and 3 days.

This morning I had an ultrasound to check the baby’s growth. They are watching it a little extra because I have an off center cord placement. Baby is so big now that it is hard to see much in the images, but I watched as the technician checked the size of her head, tummy, and kidneys as well as the amount of amniotic fluid. It all was healthy.

They estimate she weighs 6 lbs 11 ounces today! That sounds so big to me, as the average at 36 weeks is about a pound less. But still it is 58th percentile (based on Dr’s due date), which means it’s a very normal weight.

If she were born today she would be big enough to wear the newborn clothing that we have. It’s so amazing to think of!

Another good thing from the scan was confirmation that sheet is in a good position for labor. In fact, she is in an ideal position – left occiput anterior (LOA). I had already suspected as much, with the help of an article on belly mapping. She seems to have settled into that position a couple of weeks ago, having been sitting breech at 28 weeks and transverse a few weeks back. I was careful since then to sit up or forward regularly or to lie on my left side. I’m so glad she moved!

So, 36 weeks and things are looking good. I’m so happy and excited!

2 thoughts on “36 weeks – in the final stretch

  1. I can’t believe you’re so close! And I can’t believe she’s that big! (Not weirdly big, just big enough to be a real newborn baby.) 🙂

    Share this article with me, will ya? Mine are flipping all over the place, but seem to have settled of late into Baby A being breech and Baby B being vertex, which is a recipe for a c-section. I can tell when Baby A flipped, because one day I started feeling lighter kicks in my upper right quadrant and OBVIOUS tap dancing on my cervix/bladder. It was confirmed on ultrasound about a week later. Anyway, I’d love to know where you got your tips on how to turn and maintain them in the ideal position.

    Only a handful of weeks left!

Leave a Reply

