Learning baby’s gender


I’d been excitedly looking forward to the anatomy scan for so long that when my mom messaged me last week to ask if I was getting excited, my response was “Getting? I’ve been excited for a month!”

On Friday we had the experience I’d been waiting for – another glimpse into the womb, to see our growing baby, and even better for we would learn the gender!

We thought it would probably be a boy, mostly because of the large number of boys in Husband’s family. So we were amazed, and frankly disbelieving at first, when the tech said it’s a girl!

Here’s a side profile of her. Her hand is visible behind her head near her forehead:
20130822-190059.jpg
Finding out we’re having a girl was a wonderful surprise, and we are so happy. We know we will probably have a boy eventually, but we hadn’t felt our chances of having a girl to be as solid, so we’re thrilled to have one on the way!

She’s a very active girl, and we saw her curl over and grab her toes! Here she is shortly after that, with her head stretching towards her knees:
20130822-190130.jpg
Then we had the 3D scan, and we saw her suck her thumb while we watched! It was so cute!
20130822-190619.jpg
On Monday I’ll be 20 weeks along, so I’m almost halfway through the pregnancy. Depending on clothing, I now really look pregnant:
20130820-183235.jpg

PS – That post about being sidelined? I have de Quervain’s tendinitis, which is in the tendon connecting the thumb to the wrist. I really want it to heal so I’m holding off on typing as much as I can!

baby

4 thoughts on “Learning baby’s gender

    • Hehe thanks! The tech gave us a pic of just the legs, too, saying they were gorgeous long legs. I don’t know what they normally look like at 19 weeks but if the tech thought it worth commenting on, I guess I can allow myself to marvel at them, lol. 🙂

Leave a Reply

