On using Twitter


Dosh Dosh wrote a nice post on using Twitter recently. In particular, I like to think of my Twitter use as along the lines of this quote (attributed to Leisa Reichelt) from the blog post:

Ambient intimacy is about being able to keep in touch with people with a level of regularity and intimacy that you wouldn’t usually have access to, because time and space conspire to make it impossible.

Who cares? Who wants this level of detail? Isn’t this all just annoying noise?…There are a lot of us, though, who find great value in this ongoing noise. It helps us get to know people who would otherwise be just acquaintances.

It makes us feel closer to people we care for but in whose lives we’re not able to participate as closely as we’d like. Knowing these details creates intimacy.

I tweet because it’s a way to stay in touch – to share tiny little tidbits at different points throughout the day.  Recently I decided to change my twitter account to have my real name and share with my friends, family, and possibly business contacts, so I removed it from the sidebar. If you read my tweets but didn’t subscribe and you want to know my current username, send me an e-mail.

Leave a Reply

