A scene from my marriage


I’m in the kitchen, mixing up some buttercream frosting (I have to admit, I was adding it to the gingerbread cookies Jenny sent, because I have such a sweet-tooth I thought “mmmmm more sugar!”). I’m trying to open the bottle of vanilla extract, which is stuck. I grasp the cap hard, and try to turn it, applying torque through my hands. What I end up doing is grating my hand against the ridges in the cap, which hurts. Finally, I give up, and go find Husband. Where is he?

“Husband, I need your help!” I call. I find him in the bathroom, struggling to get the plastic seal off of a new bottle of contact lens fluid. We look at each other, exchange an amused expression, and trade bottles.

Seconds later, we both have what we needed and couldn’t do ourselves.

7 thoughts on “A scene from my marriage

  1. Haha. I have no shame in admitting I – the reason I don’t do it myself is because my sensitive skin hurts like hell with that kind of friction, and I know it hurts his skin less…I don’t think I did loosen it up…merely cause pain to my hands in trying.

Leave a Reply

