How have your views of yourself and your career changed over time?


In celebration of having finished my quals, no matter the outcome, I’ll be hosting the next Scientiae carnival on May 1st. I just posted the call for posts over at the Scientiae blog, but I’ll repeat that here.

The topic will be our changing views of ourselves and our careers as we progress through life. Here are a few questions I was thinking of as possible prompts for the topic:

  • How have your career goals changed in the past year? 5 years? 10 years?
  • How has your perception of self changed in the past year? 5 years? 10 years?
  • How is where you are now different from what you imagined for yourself as you worked toward this point?
  • How much of a role have things outside of science had on your changing career goals?

Please feel free to discuss other questions relating to your career trajectory or your self-perception, and off-topic posts are welcome as well.

To submit, send an e-mail with the permalink for your post to scientiaecarnival [at] gmail [dot] com by midnight April 28th, and also tag your post with scientiae-carnival. The complete submission instructions are here.

I look forward to reading your posts!

3 thoughts on “How have your views of yourself and your career changed over time?

  1. Thanks! I actually just sat down and thought, what would I most want to know that I haven’t heard about yet from the members of this community? I’m looking forward to writing my own post too, as it will be a great exercise in self-analysis.

  2. Pingback: Changing Views « Lab Cat

Leave a Reply

