Check out the Center for Inquiry


After Saturday’s lovely Dawkins lecture, I went online to the Center for Inquiry to sign up for their e-mails. I had been to their site before, but I never signed up for the newsletter, and I realized at the event that I’ve been missing out on some pretty cool NYC events for skeptics, atheists, scientists, and the like. So, you may ask, what is the Center for Inquiry? Their newsroom page describes it well:

A Leading Resource for Journalists, Producers, and the Media:

Tackling head on many of today’s burning issues from a refreshing and often provocative perspective, based on science, reason, and a secular outlook the Center for Inquiry engages in research and development in three broad areas of foci:

Religion, Ethics, and Society

Paranormal and Fringe-Science Claims

Medicine and Health: Commission for Scientific Medicine and Mental Health Practice: CSMMH

The tensions between religion and science and tradition and secularism pose difficult dilemmas for modern society-unfortunately, much of what passes for “answers” is uninformed, unreasoned, and all too often, unprincipled. There is an urgent, pressing need for a fresh approach.

I am most interested in their work with religion and humanism – they house the Council for Secular Humanism, and I am an active secular humanist. I can’t recommend their podcast, Point of Inquiry, enough. I love to listen to it while I’m commuting throughout the city. It’s a great way to get an overview of some of the best books out there today on these topics without actually finding the time to read every one of them. And sometimes, it may even inspire you to go read the whole book, or to look up a concept or author further.

One thought on “Check out the Center for Inquiry

  1. kinda random… I “fell” into your blog quite by accident when googling something rather weird having to do with cats. Anyways, then I saw your Giant red ‘A’ below and the center for inquiry links and other lovely links. The podcast looks really interesting.. Thanks for sharing! I kinda skimmed some of your blog (its getting late and I have work in the morning.) I’m in computers, and my girlfriend of 8 yrs is very close to getting her PhD. We’ve been talking about kids for years. It is difficult šŸ˜¦ I hope you and your husband figure out whats best for you. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

