Yoga!


So I took a yoga class on Monday night at my gym, Crunch (which is awesome! I totally recommend it – they do a good job of creating an “everyone’s welcome” atmosphere).  I had never taken a yoga class before, so this was a first for me, although in high school I took lots of pilates and ballet.  It was also my first time taking a class at this gym, where I’ve been a member for a few years and classes are free with membership.  I finally decided to get over whatever was keeping me from trying that out, and went to a class, and I am so glad I did!  The class was actually pretty hard, as they advertised “all levels welcome” but it was geared towards more experienced yoga students.  I was pretty decent with regards to balance and positioning, but I am so out of shape that I didn’t have the strength to hold many of the positions for too long, or to carry on at the speed that the class was held at.  Even with the numerous brief pauses I took to have a sip of water, wipe the sweat off my brow, or try to figure out what she was directing us to do, I found that I was starting to ache already by the next morning.  Now I am a bit sore all over, and although that means I probably overdid it a bit since I was already sore by yesterday morning, it feels good to know that I pushed not only my cardiovascular system but my muscles as well.  What a refreshing feeling!

Leave a Reply

