Games I’m looking forward to


Well, it’s one of my favorite events of the year, even though I don’t attend it personally: the E3 convention, the annual gaming convention at which game developers share exciting bits of their upcoming games.  I just wanted to share some of the games I’m looking forward to:

  • SimCity SocietiesThe Sims and The Sims 2 have been some of my favorite games of all time, and I also love SimCity.  We have SimCity 4 with the Rush Hour expansion, and it’s quite fun.  Societies looks like it will be good, with the new ability to decide what to focus your town on – you don’t have to make the people like you.  You can be a green city, or totalitarian society, or a wealth-oriented city, and others in between.  Picking what to focus on and what kind of society to build reminds me of playing Civilization, one of my other favorites, but it will have similar city building and strategy/managing components to the other SimCity games.  Sounds good to me!
  • Wii Fit.  Husband and I have a Wii, and we love that it tires us out when we play Wii sports.  I think Wii Fit sounds pretty great – especially since I like balancing exercises and other toning and cardio work that it seems like it would be perfect for.
  • Starcraft II.  I didn’t ever play Starcraft, but I did play Warcraft III before I played World of Warcraft, and I’m definitely a Blizzard fan, in particular with strategy games.  This one looks like it’ll be good!
  • Spore. I may have mentioned this before, but I’ve been excited about Spore for a long time, and like so much of the rest of the gaming world, have been eagerly anticipating it even as it’s release date gets pushed further and further back.

Heck, I could write about more, but that’s enough for now, isn’t it?  I’m off to do some work and then to watch Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix tonight.  Yay Harry!

Leave a Reply

