Watching small children is exhausting


Wow. I have always had respect and admiration for moms who watch small children every day and manage to not go crazy, especially these past few years as I’ve had a severe case of baby fever, and have been reading as many books and articles and blogs about motherhood, parenting, and babies as I possibly can. But recently I started a part-time job as a babysitter (much more because I just crave the interaction with small children than because I need the money), and now I see it myself multiple days a week. I love it, I L-O-V-E the job and the interaction, but I leave exhausted. The family I babysit for has a 2 year old and a 7 month old, and it’s very challenging to watch and/or soothe the baby while entertaining and engaging the toddler at the same time. I only work a few hours at a time, and when I leave, I feel like a whole day has gone by. I just cannot imagine how the mommies all do this, day in, day out, all…day….long. I try to. And it’s not enough to scare me away from becoming a mommy myself. But man, you all deserve a nap! A nice, long, uninterrupted, nap.

One of my favorite readings has been the blog Dooce. I like her writing style and personality, and I find her blog very humorous. Also I’m just amazed that this woman generates so much traffic on her blog that she’s able to pay the mortgage by placing ads on it. Technorati has her blog in the top 100 of all blogs on the web, so it’s no wonder she’s managing to live off her blog proceeds. On the other hand, it’s hard to imagine how my family might react if they became known because I wrote about them on my blog. That’s why I decided to make this blog more…..anonymous.

I’m really into mommy blogs that are honest and revealing. I think it’s a good step for women to be able to speak openly about the difficulties as well as the joys of motherhood. I enjoy the funny stories, and even more so the heart-felt warm and fuzzy ones. Ah, stories. How lovely, I could just snuggle up with them, and dream of the day when I have my own baby stories to share. ::sigh::

Let me close with a happy moment I experienced today.  Baby was crying, crying, crying because momma had left.  Baby was sleepy, but putting him down led to load, wailing cries, so we walked around, bounced a little bit, and sang soft songs to soothe baby.  This went on for quite a while, some soothing, some playing, some attempts at feeding the bottle.  Baby seemed to be getting sleepy but being put down still resulted in wails, so we bounced and walked and sang some more.  And then baby nuzzled into my chest, resting baby’s head on top of my breasts and curling up baby’s hands to the sides.  Soon, baby was asleep in my arms, all soft and cuddly and precious. So precious! It’s moments like that that make the exhausting part soooo worth it.

Leave a Reply

